Week 2 Report

This week has been a week of successes. The first success came when I had a  bad day at work to the point I got upset on the way home but rather than eat my troubles away like I usually do I hashed them out with myself in the car on the way home. The biggest thing I’ve learnt over the last year or so on this search for happiness, health and weight loss  is that when I am upset or angry or some sort of emotional event has happened I need to acknowledge the emotion. I have buried emotions for too long but now I try to identify the specific emotions I am feeling, identify the specific reason for each one, sit with the emotion for a little while and just feel it and then come up with a way to move forward. All a bit ‘weird’ but my god it has really worked in terms of my emotional eating. I’m not sure where I read about this technique but whoever it was I send you a massive thanks!

The second success was again another really really bad day at work and I came home feeling crap. My technique above helped but just didn’t cut it so I was still really uptight when I got home and wanted to eat the contents of the fridge. I was also knackered and had been working my backside off so to ‘deal’ with it I accepted that I felt crappy, accepted that I was knackered, accepted that my usual techniques weren’t working and with this in my head I ‘pigged out’ on an options hot chocolate, a packet of quavers and a couple of squares of dark chocolate. Obviously from a calorie point of view this wasn’t a ‘pig out’ but it felt enough of one to do the trick. I also gave myself a couple of nights off school work.

The final success came on Thursday night after coming home from work. I still had lots of school work to do and I pancakes 2was starving. I voiced to my boyfriend that I just wanted to eat something crap and not have a healthy tea as I couldn’t be bothered cooking it; take away pizza was what I had in mind! However, I told myself off, got my arse in gear and just got on with it and made a delicious spaghetti bolognaise packed full of veg.

Another minor success has been going slightly over my calories for one day but not throwing in the towel and just adjusting my calories slightly on other days meaning I finish the week under my weekly calories. Oh and some more gorgeous pancakes (right) this time with some stewed fruit and yoghurt. Yum!

The biggest success of the week…….a 2lb weightloss!

Leave a comment